Thoughts on Social Media

Social Media is great…except for the political posts. It’s not that I don’t care about what is happening in the world. I just don’t like to see it all of the time in my feed. Most of the people who post these types of things do truly care about the state of the world so I know that there is no evil intent. They just want their friends to be aware of what is happening. I have two problems with it, though…

1. There’s too much of it.

2. Not all of it comes from credible vetted sources. Even some of the memes I see are based on questionable, if not outright false ideas.

I wish there was a way to get people to stop posting this kind of stuff. I’m not sure if it has changed anybody’s mind about anything and it has a negative effect on my peace of mind.

Maybe my struggles with anxiety lately aren’t simply because of physical medical issues. This could be a good part of why I’ve been so stressed out lately. My upper back stays tight, which is a clue that something isn’t right.

With all of that being said, I think it’s time for me to take yet another break from Facebook. I don’t know how long it’ll be before I come back. I enjoy keeping up with my friends, but my mental health is more important at this point.

Leave a comment